6 Words Poster

For this brief, we’ve been given the task to creating a poster based on a Roald Dahl story of our choice. I have researched various books written by Roald Dahl although, I was intrigued by the story so I have chosen “Matilda”. I thought it had a really powerful message to it, that would communicate quite well within my six words typographic design.


matildaMatilda: A grouchy couple are parents to a very sweet girl, Matilda. Unlike her bratty brother and mean parents, Matilda becomes a very sweet and extremely intelligent 6-year-old girl, who is very keen to go to school and read books. After a while, her parents send her to school with the worst principal in the world, a very sweet teacher, and good friends. While trying to put up with her parents’ and principal’s cruelty, she starts to unwittingly unleash telekinetic powers, destroying a television and making a new fly onto the principal. With enough practice, Matilda starts to learn to control her telekinetic powers and soon using them on her principal so she can drive her away from the school.


The main objective of this was to come up with a six words story based on “Matilda”! So, I came up with three quotes; “More persistence the closer the gain“, “Bright judgements override the negative thoughts“, and “Kindness encourages wick to grow stronger“.

The tasks were to create an A3 black and white poster and create a hybrid typography to convey the meaning regarding the story of Roald Dahl “Matilda”. The poster should include only typography and cannot include any images or illustrations of any kind. Also, the hybrids must consist of a serif and a sans serif typeface put together, two different sans serif typefaces, or two different serif typefaces.

We have been given a list of questions to ask ourselves before getting starting:

  • What is the tone of the word(s) you are attempting to convey, typographically?

  • What case is most appropriate in conveying that tone?
  • Is it a mixture of both upper and lower cases?
  • Can the size and scale of your letterforms help in conveying the tone of the word?
  • How can your placement of text within the given format assist in conveying that message?

In order to proceed forward, I had to choose a quote. I have chosen “Kindness encourages wick to grow stronger”. I started sketching out some ideas in my journal in order to get an initial concept of how my poster is going to look like.

Adobe Illustrator was a good and flexible tool for me to use. I first started putting together words as shapes set in two fonts, upper and lower case.

ttfh.jpg
This was like a template for me to see how the letters are going to look like. I have used this as basis for copying the letterforms into a new document. This gave me the flexibility I needed to experiment with individual letterforms separately.

In the photographs below, I was experimenting with cutting and ungrouping techniques using the pathfinder and the pen tool in Illustrator. However, I’ve been also mixing up serifs with the sans serifs and played with the shape of the letterforms in order to come up with best meaningful hybrids.

Next, I have used this hybrids that I created to put together a layout for my poster design. I created a variety of layouts, in order to apply different methods and design techniques.

I have experimented with different compositions and backgrounds. That in order to come up with a design that communicates the best my six-word story. I have made good use of the negative space in order to get a nice and legible composition. I tried different size hybrids, and played a lot with the shapes of the words as well. Also, I changed some of the hybrids in order to improve readability and meanings of the words.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Untitled-1.jpg

After experimenting with various compositions and layouts I have decided this was my strongest piece. I think this works best because of its clean centered layouts I think this is the most legible out of all my outcomes and it works well in terms of hierarchy as well.

img_04792

In, conclusion this project was something unexpected and totally new to me as I have never done anything like it before. I really liked how my outcome turned out to be and I am strongly enthusiastic in re-applying and  improving some of the techniques I have learned in this brief within my future projects.


Source:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0117008/plotsummary/. -Written by Anonomys

 

Leave a Reply

